Skip navigation

First of all, let me express my personal feeling to people actually visit my site day by day. I have been away for one week to get MCITP:EA certificate and haven’t updated my blog for one week. But I’m just surprised by how many people actually keen to come back my blog.

Now, I’m off MS for a while and finally can dive into VMware world again and hopefully, I can get practical and deep as well. With no further duo, please allow me to bring up this new series topic, Using ESXi to replace ESX.

Why would you to use ESXi to replace ESX in the production?

I’m pretty sure that’s the first question you would ask. That’s also first question my manager asked as well. In the old time, ESXi is a free product and not even get supported by Vmware. And what’s wrong with ESX?

Well, if we double check what vmware said recently.

§First choice is ESXi Embedded, whenever possible.

ESXi is the future.

VMware has announced its intention to eventually replace ESX with ESXi.

§Design the management infrastructure to support VMware® ESXi, even if deploying VMware ESX™.

Limit the use of service console–based command-line management and monitoring agents

Develop ESXi management techniques now because ESX will eventually be phased out.

This message is from a vSphere Design workshop and blogged in vFrank.

As far as I understand, Vmware had enough headache to fixing RedHat version of Service Console. More than 50% percentage of Updates are delivered for SC.Thousands Support call are related to this poor Management console and Vmware believes ESXi can work better, lighter, and easier. According to my personal experiences, I’m very troubled by ESX console ping dropping. I have 2 or 3 software monitoring SC via ping, SNMP and there are always issues.

Concerns about ESXi

It’s free product, do I get support?

Yes, you do. I just have Vmware License team shoot an official Email to me to prove ESXi is supported as long as you have full production support. You will get exactly same support as esxi.

Does ESXi support vMotion, HA, FT, DRS, blah,blah?

Yes, they are. ESXi support all those functions with no issues.  I would like to provide you a link which is comparison of ESX and ESXi. http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/microsites/search.do?language=en_US&cmd=displayKC&externalId=1015000

So what kind of features does ESXi support?

I can show you a picture with most functions of ESX and ESXi supported. If you want to get full list, please follow this link. http://www.vmware.com/products/esxi/facts.html This page shows there are no functions ESX supports while ESXi doesn’t.

To be continued…….

Reference:

http://www.vfrank.org/2010/04/13/esx-will-be-phased-out-esxi-is-the-future/

http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/microsites/search.do?language=en_US&cmd=displayKC&externalId=1015000

http://www.vmware.com/products/esxi/facts.html


2 Comments

  1. I don’t think the ESX version will be ruled out completly.

    ESX provides more room for scripting. Only benefit that ESXi has over ESX is small memory thumbprint, less code to patch (more secure than ESX).

    When it comes to automation and management I still say ESX is the best.

    • hi, Raj:
      I have to disagree with you. ESXi can do scripting just like ESX. It’s not Service Console(Red Hat) takes command and run, it’s vSphere API job to interpret request and send to VMKernel. As ESXi does have vSphere Web Service API, and it will run all commands you want.


Leave a Reply

